Hope is the best present
Foundation

Hope is the best present

War, illness, poverty, exclusion: Hopelessness has many reasons. Luckily, remedies are also existing. The EMS Foundation concentrates on improving the living conditions for all humans worldwide - regardless of religion or nationality.

The Evangelical Mission in Solidarity (EMS) is an association of 23 churches and five mission societies. It is its goal to achieve better living conditions, for Christians and members of other religions alike. Sustainability, fairness and reliability are the guidelines for its well concerted projects and initiatives.

The EMS Foundation fights against poverty. It supports education, health care, peace work, church planting and environment protection within a solid network of worldwide partners in Africa, Asia, the Middle East and Europe. This valuable long-term help enables the EMS to give hope to people through new chances and perspectives in their lives in many regions of the world.

URSULA HELENE FOUNDATION

The Ursula Helene Foundation is a sub-foundation of the EMS Foundation and supports the education of girls in Africa sustainably. There, girls and women are still highly disadvantaged. Less than 60 percent of the girls attend a school. But education is vital, not only to improve the status of the women and girls. First of all, education is the best way to escape poverty and to build an economically stable society. The Ursula Helene Foundation supports the education of girls sustainably. With a donation to the Ursula Helene Foundation you bestow a new perspective for their future on girls in Africa.

"As German Christians we can learn from our brothers and sisters of the worldwide church, how faith can encompass every aspect of life. The EMS is maintaining sustainable relations with Christians in many parts of the world. As bishop in Württemberg I know about the meaningfulness, and I appreciate the involvement in world mission for our church. Therefore, I support the EMS as Chairman on the foundation board."

Dr. h. c. Frank Otfried July

Bishop of the Evangelical-Lutheran Church in Württemberg

"For many years already, my family is connected to the Basel Mission, and hence to the EMS. I experienced myself how the maxim of the mission on eye-level is creating spaces where people irrespective of their cultural background can meet and learn from each other as equals. The EMS is living this mission in solidarity and partnership. Therefore, it is playing an important role within the worldwide network of mankind. That is the reason, why I am actively involved on the EMS foundation board."

Prof. Frieder Bernius

Conductor

"Since 1978, the EMS is entwined with my life story. The fact that the churches of the EMS are a big family is a great gift. As a member of the foundation board I want to promote encounters between the siblings of this worldwide family and encourage the amazement about what can grow out of the power of faith."

OKR i.R. Johannes Stockmeier

Former president of Diakonie, social welfare organisation of the Evangelical Church in Germany

"Due to globalisation and digitalisation the world becomes a village. But to live there will only be possible if we meet each other as equals. The churches of the EMS are already practicing this on three continents. Here Christians are pioneers for cooperative living. Only like this, living together peacefully on this shared earth will be possible."

Jürgen Kaiser

Media pastor and management spokesman Evangelisches Medienhaus GmbH

"Solidarity (as defined in Galatians 6) as a business principle signifies the commitment for weaker and marginalized people, based on the consensus of community. I gladly support the EMS in its endeavour for worldwide social fairness and I commit myself to ensure that the economic basis for this endeavour is secure in the long term."

Gerald Schmidt

Organisational director of the insurers in the field of churches

"For many years our church has a lively partnership with a church in Port Elizabeth in South Africa. With the EMS as our strong partner, this contact is well organised and part of a worldwide network of brother- and sisterhood. The EMS programmes provide a wide view on the entire diversity of the member churches of the EMS Fellowship."

Walter Schneider

Pastor of the Protestant Christchurch, Darmstadt-Eberstadt

What we support

Choose year
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • Alle

Fostering Next Generation Ecumenical Leaders

South Korea

The ecumenical movement needs young and committed people. With management trainings the Presbyterian Church in the Republic of Korea wants to strengthen its next generation leaders and broaden their horizon.

Interreligious Dialogue

Indonesia

Strengthening mutual understanding - this is the aim of the Institute For Interfaith Dialogue in Indonesia. Therefore, the centre offers religious leaders in Yogyakarta trainings and shows ways how different religions can work together.

AIDS destroys the livelihood of many South Africans and their families since those infected can find no jobs and children are left as orphans. The "Masangane" project brings back hope to AIDS sufferers and to the children affected.

Pastoral Management

India

The Church of South India strengthens its pastors. In workshops they receive profound knowledge in the fields of management, administration and information technology.

Producing Biogas in Mamasa

Indonesia

In their training programmes for making biogas the Toraja Mamasa Church shows their members how they can use the manure from their cattle to produce sustainable energy.

 

 

Refugee Work

Hong Kong

Christian churches in Hong Kong take care of refugees and try to integrate them into the society. Through workshops and trainings they receive new perspectives of life.

Solidarity with Irregular Workers

South Korea

Strengthening the rights of peons and raising awareness of the challenges of irregular workers: With its project the Presbyterian Church of Korea sets an example of solidarity.

 

 

Training for Evangelists

India

Evangelists are highly committed. They work as missionaries, community leaders, social workers or aid officials. The Church of South India supports their valuable work by workshops and trainings.

The Buraku is a Japanese minority which is constantly faced with social discrimination. Although they were granted equal rights by law in 1871, everyday life is a totally different story. The KYODAN Church stands up for their rights.

Stay informed

darum Magazine

Our magazine "darum" opens up the wide horizon of mission and ecumenism.

There you can read up-to-date reports on the worldwide commitment of Christians to passing on the gospel, working for justice and peace and standing up for harmony between the religions. The EMS magazine (availible in German) is issued jointly with five other missions. It appears every three months - with a focal theme and a supplement called "darum-journal".

Ask for a free trial copy. Or subscribe right away!

Help in the long term

Donate

With your donation you help us to give people the help they desperately need. Our projects offer people a new perspective in life, for example through vocational training or a good health care. This way structures can evolve in the long term that improve the lives of all the people of the supported region. Join in. Hope is the best gift.

Contribute

To help people in the long term is the goal of the EMS. The EMS Foundation provides the financial basis for this quest. Year after year, the interest revenue of the foundation assets helps people in need. You also can be part of it. Your support creates something remaining. With your donation to the foundation either while you are alive or as an inheritance, you support the efforts of the EMS effectively, for you give long term chances to people they would not have otherwise.

Spread the word

The projects and initiatives of the EMS are effective, manifold and exemplary for a cooperation based on partnership. But how much more could the EMS achieve, if more people would know about this work? Mission, help and grace of charity move and connect people. To be a part of this worldwide alliance empowers to help people with sustained effect. This is a good feeling, isn't it? Then spread the word!

Menschen Hoffnung schenken
Stiftung

Menschen Hoffnung schenken

Krieg, Krankheit, Armut, Ausgrenzung: Es gibt viele Gründe für Hoffungslosigkeit. Aber es gibt auch Mittel dagegen. Die EMS-Stiftung setzt sich weltweit für bessere Lebensbedingungen aller Menschen ein - unabhängig von Religion oder Nationalität.

Die Evangelische Mission in Solidarität (EMS) ist eine internationale, ökumenische Gemeinschaft von 23 Mitgliedskirchen und fünf Missionsgesellschaften. Sie hat das Ziel, für alle Menschen gute Lebensbedingungen zu schaffen, ob für Christen oder Angehörige anderer Religionen. Nachhaltigkeit, Fairness und Verlässlichkeit sind hierbei stets die Richtschnur für ihre gezielten Projekte und Initiativen.

Die EMS-Stiftung bekämpft Armut. Sie fördert Bildung, Gesundheit, Friedensarbeit, Gemeindeaufbau und Umweltschutz in einem weltweiten, stabilen Netzwerk von Partnern in Afrika, Asien, dem Nahen Osten und Europa. Durch diese wertvolle und langfristige Hilfe schenkt die EMS Menschen Hoffnung durch neue Lebenschancen und Perspektiven an vielen Orten der Welt.

URSULA-HELENE-STIFTUNG

Die Ursula-Helene-Stiftung ist eine Unterstiftung der EMS-Stiftung und fördert die Bildung von Mädchen in Afrika nachhaltig. Dort ist die Benachteiligung von Mädchen und Frauen immer noch groß. Weniger als 60 Prozent der Mädchen gehen in die Schule. Dabei verbessert Bildung nicht nur den Status der Frauen und Mädchen. Bildung ist auch das beste Mittel, um der Armut zu entkommen und eine wirtschaftlich stabile Gesellschaft zu schaffen. Wenn Sie der Ursula-Helene-Stiftung zustiften, schenken Sie Mädchen in Afrika eine neue Perspektive für ihre Zukunft.

"Als deutsche Christen können wir von unseren Brüdern und Schwestern aus der weltweiten Kirche lernen, wie der Glaube alle Lebensbereiche umfassen kann. Die EMS pflegt tragfähige Beziehungen zu Christinnen und Christen in vielen Teilen der Erde. Als Bischof in Württemberg weiß ich die Bedeutung des weltmissionarischen Engagements für unsere Landeskirche zu schätzen. Deshalb unterstütze ich die Arbeit der EMS als Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats."

Dr. h. c. Frank Otfried July

Landesbischof der Evangelischen Landeskirche in Württemberg

"Meine Familie ist seit vielen Jahren mit der Basler Mission verbunden, und so auch mit der EMS. Ich habe selbst erfahren, wie die Maxime der Mission auf Augenhöhe Räume schafft, in denen sich Menschen über kulturelle Grenzen hinweg als voneinander Lernende begegnen. Die EMS lebt diese Mission in Solidarität und Partnerschaft und übernimmt eine wichtige Rolle im weltweiten Netzwerk von Menschen. Deshalb engagiere ich mich als Stiftungsrat bei der EMS."

Prof. Frieder Bernius

Dirigent

"Die EMS gehört seit 1978 zu meiner Lebensgeschichte dazu. Die Familie der Kirchen in der EMS ist ein großes Geschenk. Begegnungen mit Geschwistern in dieser weltweiten Familie und das Staunen darüber, was aus der Kraft des Glaubens wächst – das will ich als Mitglied des Stiftungsrates fördern und weiter nach vorne bringen."

OKR i.R. Johannes Stockmeier

Präsident a.D. im Diakonischen Werk der Evangelischen Kirche in Deutschland

"Durch Globalisierung und Digitalisierung wird die Welt zum Dorf. Darin leben aber wird man nur können, wenn man sich auf Augenhöhe begegnet. So wie das zwischen den Kirchen in der EMS auf drei Kontinenten erprobt wird. Hier sind Christinnen und Christen Vorreiter für ein partnerschaftliches Leben. Nur so wird Leben auf der gemeinsamen Erde in Frieden möglich sein."

Jürgen Kaiser

Medienpfarrer und Sprecher der Geschäftsführung Evangelisches Medienhaus GmbH

"Solidarität (gemäß Galater 6) als Geschäftsprinzip bedeutet Engagement für Schwächere und Benachteiligte, getragen vom Konsens der Gemeinschaft. Gerne unterstütze ich das Engagement der EMS für weltweite soziale Gerechtigkeit und setzte mich dafür ein, dass die wirtschaftliche Grundlage hierfür langfristig gesichert wird."

Gerald Schmidt

Organisationsdirektor der Versicherer im Raum der Kirchen

"Unsere Kirchengemeinde hat seit Jahren eine lebendige Partnerschaft zu einer Gemeinde in Port Elizabeth in Südafrika. Mit der EMS im Rücken ist dieser Kontakt gut organisiert und in ein weltweites Netzwerk von Geschwisterlichkeit eingebunden. Die Programme der EMS weiten den Blick auf die ganze Vielfalt der Mitgliedskirchen in der EMS-Gemeinschaft."

Walter Schneider

Pfarrer Evangelische Christuskirchengemeinde Darmstadt-Eberstadt

Was wir fördern

Jahr wählen
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • Alle

Immer wieder werden die Buraku - eine japanische Minderheit - von der Gesellschaft diskriminiert. Die KYODAN-Kirche setzt sich für ihre Rechte ein.

Biogasproduktion in Mamasa

Indonesien

In Fortbildungen zur Biogasproduktion zeigt die Toraja Mamasa Kirche ihren Gemeindemitgliedern, wie sie den Dünger ihrer Schweine und Kühe nutzen können, um nachhaltig Energie zu produzieren.

 

 

Flüchtlingsarbeit

Hongkong

Christliche Kirchen in Hongkong nehmen sich Flüchtlingen an und integrieren sie in die Gesellschaft. Durch Weiterbildungen und Workshops erhalten sie neue Lebens- perspektiven.

Fortbildung von Evangelisten

Indien

Mit hohem Einsatz erfüllen Evangelisten ihren Auftrag als Missionare, Gemeindeleiter, Sozialarbeiterinnen und Entwicklungshelfer. Durch Fortbildungen unterstützt die Kirche von Südindien ihre wertvolle Arbeit.

In Indien werden die Dalits und die Adivasis noch heute diskriminiert. Erst recht wenn sie Frauen sind und den christlichen Glauben angenommen haben. Diesen Menschen hat sich die Kirche in Südindien angenommen.

Führungskräftetraining

Indien

Die Kirche von Südindien stärkt ihre Pfarrerinnen und Pfarrer. In Workshops erweitern sie ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich Verwaltung, IT und Management.

Führungskräftetraining für den Nachwuchs

Südkorea

Die ökumenische Bewegung braucht junge, engagierte Menschen. Mit einem Führungskräftetraining möchte die Presbyterianische Kirche in der Republik Korea ihren Nachwuchs stärken und ihren Horizont erweitern.

AIDS vernichtet die Lebensgrundlage vieler Menschen in Südafrika: Infizierte finden keine Arbeit und Kinder bleiben als Waisen zurück. Mit dem Projekt der Evangelischen Brüder-Unität in Südafrika kehrt die Hoffnung zu AIDS-Kranken zurück.

Solidarität mit Aushilfskräften

Südkorea

Die Rechte von Tagelöhnern stärken und Bewusstsein für die Herausforderungen von Schwarzarbeitern schaffen: Mit ihrem Projekt setzt die Presbyterianische Kirche von Korea ein Zeichen der Solidarität.

Training für den Interreligiösen Dialog

Indonesien

Toleranz füreinander stärken – das möchte das Zentrum für Interreligiösen Dialog in Indonesien. Deshalb bietet es religiösen Führungskräften in Yogyakarta Schulungen und zeigt Wege auf, wie unterschiedliche Religionen zusammen arbeiten können.

Bleiben Sie informiert

darum - Magazin aus Mission und Ökumene

Unser Magazin "darum" eröffnet den weiten Horizont von Mission und Ökumene.

Lesen Sie aktuelle Reportagen und Hintergrundberichte über das weltweite Engagement von Christinnen und Christen. Erhalten Sie kompakte Informationen zu den Themen Mission, Kirchen und Christen in der Ökumene. Das Magazin wird gemeinsam mit fünf weiteren Missionswerken gestaltet und erscheint alle drei Monate - mit einem Schwerpunktthema und dem eingehefteten "darum-journal".

Fordern Sie ein kostenloses Probeheft an. Oder abonnieren Sie gleich!

Helfen Sie nachhaltig

Spenden

Mit Ihrer Spende helfen Sie uns, Menschen beizustehen, die dringend Hilfe brauchen. Durch unsere Projekte bekommen Menschen eine Lebensperspektive, etwa durch eine fundierte Ausbildung oder eine gute Gesundheitsversorgung. Langfristig entstehen dadurch Strukturen, die das Leben aller Menschen der unterstützten Region verbessern. Seien Sie dabei. Schenken Sie Menschen Hoffnung.

Zustiften

Menschen langfristig zu helfen, ist das Ziel der EMS. Die EMS-Stiftung bietet hierfür die finanzielle Basis. Die Erträge des Stiftungsvermögens helfen Jahr für Jahr Menschen in Not. Auch Sie können daran teilhaben. Ihre Unterstützung erschafft etwas Bleibendes. Mit einer Zustiftung zu Lebzeiten oder einem Vermächtnis unterstützen Sie die Arbeit der EMS wirkungsvoll, denn Sie schenken Menschen langfristige Chancen, die sie sonst nicht hätten.

Weitererzählen

Die Projekte und Initiativen der EMS sind wirksam, vielfältig und beispielhaft in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit. Aber wie viel mehr könnte die EMS erreichen, wenn noch mehr Menschen von dieser guten Arbeit wüssten? Mission, Hilfe und Nächstenliebe bewegen und verbinden Menschen. Ein Teil dieser weltweiten Verbindung zu sein, ermöglicht es nachhaltig zu helfen. Das ist ein gutes Gefühl, oder? Dann erzählen Sie es weiter!